Best Free Document Signing Tools: Which Plans Are Actually Free?

Compare genuinely free document signing tools by send limits, users, templates, audit trails, watermarks, card requirements, and reset periods.

A document signing tool is actually free when you can keep using it as a sender without paying after a temporary trial ends.

That sounds obvious. The e-signature market makes it surprisingly complicated.

A free recipient experience is not a free sender plan. A seven-day trial is not a free plan. Unlimited self-signing is not the same as being able to request signatures from customers. Three free sends that never reset are not the same as three sends every month.

For this guide, we separate those offers instead of putting all of them in one “free e-signature software” bucket.

Based on current official documentation checked on September 3, 2026, the strongest free options depend heavily on how you intend to send documents:

  • BoldSign offers up to 25 envelopes per month for qualifying business-domain accounts, although some personal email accounts receive only five.
  • OpenSign allows unlimited documents but limits its own invitation emails to 15 per month. You can distribute signing links yourself after that.
  • DocuSeal includes 10 request emails per month plus shared-link signing.
  • Jotform Sign allows 10 completed signed documents per month.
  • PandaDoc allows 60 sent documents per year, with additional restrictions.
  • Box Sign, Documenso, and Zoho Sign each provide five recurring monthly sends under different definitions.
  • SignWell and Dropbox Sign offer three recurring sends.
  • Adobe Acrobat allows two request transactions every rolling 30 days.
  • Sign.com offers two documents per month.
  • Signaturely offers one request per month.
  • Xodo Sign currently allows one document per week.
  • DocuSign lets a free account send only three requests in total. It is not a recurring free sender plan.
Four categories of free document signing offers including ongoing free plans, limited allowances, recipient signing, and trials
“Free” can describe several very different e-signature offers.

Free signing plans compared by allowance and reset

The numbers below should not be read as a simple leaderboard. Vendors count different things.

An envelope can contain several documents and several recipients. A request can bundle documents together. Jotform counts completed signed documents. OpenSign limits invitation emails rather than documents. PandaDoc uses an annual allowance. Xodo resets weekly. DocuSign’s three free sends do not recur.

Tool Free Sender Status Free Allowance Reset Users Recipients Templates Audit Evidence Watermark or Branding Credit Card
BoldSign Ongoing Free plan Up to 25 envelopes, but some personal-domain accounts get 5 Monthly 1 sender Free Essential support documentation lists a 5-signer limit 2 Audit trail BoldSign says signed documents have no watermark No card required to start free
OpenSign Ongoing Free plan Unlimited documents, but 15 built-in invitation emails Monthly email allowance Public numeric seat cap not specified Public Free-tier numeric cap not specified Available, cap not specified Completion certificate and access logs Not publicly specified Free tier exists, but card requirement is not clearly stated on the public pages reviewed
DocuSeal Ongoing Free plan 10 request emails Monthly User management included, numeric Free cap not stated Multiple signers, numeric cap not stated Unlimited Audit log Custom company branding is paid; PDF watermark policy not stated No card required
Jotform Sign Ongoing Starter plan 10 completed signed documents First day of each month 1 Multiple signers, numeric cap not stated Template library available; separate Starter limit is 5 forms Digital audit trail Jotform branding on Free Public pricing does not state a separate card requirement for Starter
PandaDoc Ongoing Free plan 60 sent documents per year Yearly Unlimited seats 2 per document 5 electronic signature platforms after a signing transaction is completed. It summarizes who">Certificate of completion Production Free-plan watermark policy not clearly stated No card required
Box Sign Ongoing Individual Free plan 5 signature requests Monthly 1 Numeric Free cap not published None Real-time audit trail E-sign PDF watermark policy not stated Free Box account required; pricing does not state a card requirement
Documenso Ongoing Free plan 5 documents Monthly Numeric Free seat cap not stated Up to 10 per document Included, numeric cap not stated Audit log and document certificate Not publicly specified No card required
Zoho Sign Ongoing Free plan 5 envelopes Monthly 1 Multiple recipients supported; Free cap not stated Reusable templates are not included on Free Audit trail Zoho says Free documents are not watermarked No card required for the trial, which can downgrade to Free
SignWell Ongoing Free plan 3 documents Monthly 1 sender Multiple signers, numeric cap not stated 1 Tamper-proof audit trail SignWell branding applies on Free; separate PDF watermark not specified No card required
Dropbox Sign Ongoing Free plan 3 signature requests Every 30 days from signup Individual account One or more signers; numeric cap not stated on current Free help page None Audit trail Custom branding is not a Free feature; PDF watermark not stated Free signup available
Adobe Acrobat Ongoing free account allowance 2 e-signature request transactions Rolling 30 days 1 account Multiple signers supported; public Free cap not stated No Free reusable-template allowance published Timestamped audit history Free-request PDF watermark policy not stated No card required
Sign.com Ongoing Free plan 2 documents Monthly Public cap not stated Multiple parties supported; numeric Free cap not stated Not included on Free Activity timeline Not publicly specified No card required
Signaturely Ongoing Free plan 1 signature request Monthly Public cap not stated Public Free cap not stated No Free allocation published Audit history Not publicly specified No card required
Xodo Sign Ongoing Free plan 1 document Weekly 1 seat 1 signer 0 active templates Not established by the current plan-change page Not specified Not specified
DocuSign Limited free sender allowance 3 outgoing sends total Does not recur 1 free account Multiple recipients supported, Free cap not clearly published Not clearly published for free sending Free-account evidence details not clearly documented Not clearly stated No card required

All plan information above was checked against official vendor documentation on September 3, 2026.

Why “25 free” and “10 free” are not comparable

The most important column in the table is not the number. It is the usage unit.

An envelope

An envelope usually represents one signature workflow. It can contain one or more documents and may be sent to multiple recipients.

BoldSign counts envelopes. Zoho Sign also counts envelopes. Zoho explicitly describes an envelope as a signing request that can include multiple documents and recipients. Zoho Sign pricing and envelope definitions, accessed September 3, 2026

A signature request

Dropbox Sign counts a bundled transaction as a signature request. One request can contain one or more documents sent together to one or more signers. That means “three requests” is not automatically the same thing as “three documents.” Its Free allowance renews every 30 days from your signup date, rather than on the first day of every calendar month. Dropbox Sign Free plan documentation, accessed September 3, 2026

A completed signed document

Jotform Sign counts completed signed documents on its Starter plan. Its current limit is 10 per month, resetting on the first day of the month. This is separate from Jotform’s 100 monthly form-submission allowance, a distinction that several comparison pages blur. Jotform Sign Free-plan limits, accessed September 3, 2026

An invitation email

DocuSeal and OpenSign create another wrinkle.

DocuSeal’s free hosted plan includes 10 request emails per month, while shared-link signing is also included. OpenSign allows 15 invitation emails per month, but says users can continue requesting signatures by copying signing links and distributing them using their own email after that allowance is exhausted. DocuSeal pricing, accessed September 3, 2026 OpenSign Free-plan explanation, accessed September 3, 2026

Calling either product simply “10 free documents” or “15 free documents” would therefore be inaccurate.

Diagram comparing envelopes, documents, signature requests, and invitation email limits in free e-signature plans
Free e-signature products count usage in different ways, so headline quotas cannot always be compared directly.

The free plans worth investigating first

BoldSign: high monthly capacity, with an email-domain catch

BoldSign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
BoldSign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

BoldSign publishes one of the largest recurring allowances among mainstream hosted tools: its Essential Free plan includes 25 signature requests or envelopes per month, one sender, and two templates.

There is an important qualification buried in BoldSign’s support documentation. Essential accounts using a qualifying business email domain can receive the 25-request allowance, while accounts registered with personal or free email domains can be limited to five signature requests. BoldSign also lists a five-signer limit for these Essential accounts.

That makes “25 envelopes per month” a poor universal headline. A freelancer registering with Gmail may see a much smaller allowance than someone registering with a business domain.

BoldSign says completed signed documents do not carry a watermark, and its Free tier includes document history or audit capabilities. It also offers native iOS and Android apps.

Best fit: A single business-domain sender who wants a relatively generous recurring allowance.

Hidden limitation: Your email domain can materially change the Free quota.

BoldSign free allowance comparison for business-domain and some personal-domain accounts
BoldSign advertises up to 25 monthly envelopes, while its support documentation applies a lower allowance to some personal-domain accounts.
OpenSign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
OpenSign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

OpenSign’s free model is unusual enough that a simple document quota does not describe it.

OpenSign says Free users can create and request signatures on unlimited documents, but the platform sends only 15 invitation emails per month on the Free tier. After those emails are used, you can copy the recipient’s signing link and deliver it yourself.

Templates are available, and OpenSign documents a completion certificate with activity and access information.

This can be attractive for users comfortable distributing links themselves. It is less attractive if you want the signing platform to manage every invitation email for you.

OpenSign’s public Free documentation does not clearly publish every numeric limit we would want for a comparison, including a precise seat allowance, recipient cap, and PDF watermark policy. Those fields should remain marked as undisclosed until they are confirmed in-account.

Best fit: Senders who care more about free document volume than built-in invitation-email volume.

Hidden limitation: “Unlimited” applies to the document workflow, not unlimited OpenSign invitation emails.

DocuSeal homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
DocuSeal homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

DocuSeal’s hosted Basic plan costs $0 and includes 10 request emails per month, unlimited templates, multiple signers, an audit log, shared-link signing, and unlimited storage and retention according to its current pricing page.

Again, the counter matters. The limit is on request emails, not a published 10-document ceiling. A shared signing link is a separate workflow available on the Free plan.

DocuSeal also has an open-source and self-hosting story, but that should not be confused with the limits of its hosted Free service.

Features such as company branding, Zapier, webhooks, and production API capabilities sit higher in its paid offering. The public pricing material we reviewed does not state a completed-PDF watermark policy for Basic.

Best fit: Users who want reusable templates and are comfortable using shared signing links.

Hidden limitation: Built-in request emails are capped even though shared-link workflows remain available.

Jotform Sign: best suited to form-centric workflows

Jotform Sign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Jotform Sign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Jotform Sign’s free Starter plan currently includes 10 completed signed documents per month, one user, and Jotform branding. The counter resets on the first day of each month.

Do not confuse that allowance with Jotform’s separate 100 monthly form submissions. They are different limits.

Jotform supports multiple signers, provides a digital audit trail for signed documents, and has native iOS and Android applications. Its free account also gives users access to Jotform’s template ecosystem, although its pricing page does not publish a separate numeric reusable-template allowance for Sign. The five-form Starter restriction should not automatically be relabeled as “five e-signature templates.”

Best fit: Businesses already using forms and wanting signature collection in the same ecosystem.

Hidden limitation: Jotform branding remains on the Free tier, and its various account counters are easy to confuse.

PandaDoc: an annual allowance with useful team access

PandaDoc homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
PandaDoc homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

PandaDoc takes a different approach. Its current Free plan includes 60 sent documents per year, unlimited account seats, up to two recipients per document, five templates, unlimited fields, and unlimited storage.

That makes PandaDoc potentially interesting for a small team with low or irregular signing volume. Sixty annual sends can be more flexible than a strict five-per-month cap if your workload comes in bursts.

There are two important caveats.

First, PandaDoc separately documents a limit of five uploaded documents per calendar month for the Free eSign experience. Templates and editable documents are treated differently. Second, PandaDoc’s support material has used both signup-cycle and calendar-year language when discussing free allowances. Its detailed July 2026 Free-plan guide describes the yearly cycle in relation to the signup date, so that is the better source for the reset behavior, but the discrepancy is worth watching during future updates.

PandaDoc says the Free plan requires no credit card and that completed documents include a certificate of completion containing signer and activity information. Its feature matrix distinguishes some paid audit-trail terminology from that certificate, so we would not treat those labels as interchangeable without a completed-document test.

Best fit: Small teams that need multiple sender seats but relatively few documents across a year.

Hidden limitation: The headline 60-per-year allowance is not the only upload-related restriction.

PandaDoc free plan annual cycle showing 60 document sends per year, two recipients per document, and five templates
PandaDoc uses a signup-date yearly cycle rather than a conventional monthly quota.

Box Sign: five monthly requests inside a free Box account

Box Sign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Box Sign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Box Individual includes five Box Sign signature requests per month for one user. Current Box documentation lists standard signing fields, reminders, signing order, custom expiration, email verification, multi-document packages, mobile signing, and a real-time audit trail.

Reusable Box Sign templates are not included with the Individual Free plan.

Box is therefore especially relevant if you already want its storage product. If your only requirement is the highest possible free e-signature quota, other plans are more generous.

Best fit: Individuals already using Box who need occasional signature requests.

Hidden limitation: No reusable Box Sign templates on the Individual Free plan.

Documenso: five documents with up to 10 recipients

Documenso homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Documenso homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Documenso’s hosted Free plan includes five documents per month and allows up to 10 recipients per document. No credit card is required.

Templates are available on the Free tier, although the public pricing and help material we reviewed does not publish a separate numeric template cap. Completed documents can include audit information and a signing certificate.

The recipient limit makes Documenso interesting for a workflow where a relatively small number of documents needs several signers.

Best fit: Low document volume with more signers per document.

Hidden limitation: Several secondary limits, such as exact Free seat count and branding policy, are not clearly disclosed publicly.

Zoho Sign: five envelopes and one user

Zoho Sign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Zoho Sign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Zoho Sign’s genuine Free plan includes five envelopes per month for one user, plus reminders, signing workflows, an audit trail, cloud-storage import and export, and Zoho Sign’s native mobile and desktop applications.

An envelope can contain multiple documents and recipients, so five envelopes should not be converted into five individual PDF files.

There is another important distinction: new users can encounter a 14-day Enterprise trial before moving to Free. Zoho says no card is required for that trial and that accounts can move to Free afterward.

Zoho also explicitly distinguishes the trial’s document watermarking from its Free plan. Its support documentation says documents signed under the trial carry a watermark, while documents on the Free plan do not.

Reusable templates are not part of the Free tier.

Best fit: One-person businesses already using Zoho or common cloud-storage services.

Hidden limitation: The initial trial experience has different limits and watermark behavior from the permanent Free plan.

SignWell: three documents and one template per month

SignWell homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
SignWell homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

SignWell’s Free plan provides three documents per month, one sender, one reusable template, and an audit trail. It supports multiple signers and signing order, and SignWell says no credit card is required for the Free tier.

Recipients do not need a SignWell account.

SignWell’s own materials say Free documents carry SignWell branding. That should not automatically be interpreted as a PDF watermark. The exact placement of that branding is something a live account test should capture before making a more specific claim.

Best fit: A solo sender with a predictable, very low monthly volume.

Hidden limitation: Three documents can disappear quickly if signing is a routine part of your business.

Dropbox Sign: three requests every 30 days

Dropbox Sign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Dropbox Sign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Dropbox Sign’s Free plan gives an individual account three signature requests every 30 days from signup.

Its unit is useful to understand. One signature request can bundle one or more documents for one or more signers and still count as a single request. Self-signing is unlimited and does not consume the outgoing request quota.

Free accounts do not get reusable templates.

Best fit: Someone who signs plenty of their own documents and sends only a few external requests.

Hidden limitation: The reset is a rolling signup-based 30-day cycle rather than a calendar month.

Adobe Acrobat: two recurring request transactions

Adobe Acrobat homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Adobe Acrobat homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

A free Adobe Acrobat account currently allows two e-signature request transactions every rolling 30 days.

Recipients can sign without purchasing Acrobat or creating their own paid account. Adobe documents timestamps and audit information for the request workflow, and creating the free account does not require a credit card.

This is separate from an Acrobat Pro trial and separate again from simply filling and signing a PDF yourself.

Best fit: Very occasional signing where you already use Adobe’s PDF tools.

Hidden limitation: Two transactions per 30 days is a small sender allowance, regardless of how familiar the Acrobat interface may be.

Plans with only one or two recurring sends

Three products remain genuinely recurring but are better suited to occasional use.

Sign.com currently lists two documents per month on its Free plan, requires no credit card, supports link sharing, and includes an activity timeline. Reusable templates appear on its Premium plan rather than Free. Sign.com pricing, accessed September 3, 2026

Sign.com homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Sign.com homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Signaturely currently documents one signature request per month on its ongoing Free plan, with no credit card required. Current help material also lists reminders, integrations for document upload, and audit history. Some older or vendor-authored Signaturely pages show different free quotas, which is why the current Help Center and pricing documentation should take precedence. Signaturely Free plan help, accessed September 3, 2026

Signaturely homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Signaturely homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Xodo Sign, formerly associated with the eversign product, changed its Free plan on September 2, 2026. The current limit is one document per week, one signer, one seat, and zero active templates. That change is recent enough that many comparison pages will still show older limits. Xodo Sign Free plan update, accessed September 3, 2026

Xodo Sign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Sign.com, the current destination for the Xodo Sign product homepage, captured September 3, 2026.
Xodo Sign free plan limits updated September 2 2026
Xodo Sign changed its Free plan limits on September 2, 2026.

DocuSign is free for recipients, not a recurring free sender plan

DocuSign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
DocuSign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

DocuSign deserves its own section because it is one of the easiest products to misclassify.

A free DocuSign account can be used indefinitely to sign documents you receive or sign and return documents yourself. That is valuable, but it does not mean you get a recurring monthly allowance for collecting signatures from other people.

For outbound requests, DocuSign’s current official material says the free account allows three sends or envelopes in total. Once those are used, you need a paid plan to keep sending signature requests. DocuSign does not describe those three sends as renewing monthly. No credit card is required for the free account. DocuSign free account information, accessed September 3, 2026

So:

  • Free to receive and sign: Yes.
  • Free to self-sign and return documents: Yes.
  • Three free outgoing signature requests: Yes.
  • Three outgoing requests every month: No.

If you need ongoing sending rather than occasional signing, compare the recurring options above or see BrandJet’s DocuSign alternatives guide.

Free trials that do not qualify for this list

A search for “free e-signature software” still returns products whose primary sender offer is a temporary trial.

That is fine when clearly labeled. It becomes misleading when the trial is ranked beside permanent $0 plans.

signNow

signNow homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
signNow homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

signNow currently offers a seven-day free trial with no credit card and allows users to try the product’s sender functionality during that period. Continued sending after the trial requires a paid plan.

That makes it useful to evaluate, but it is not an ongoing free sender plan. signNow trial documentation, accessed September 3, 2026

Foxit eSign

Foxit eSign homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Foxit eSign homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Foxit creates an even more important distinction.

Its full e-signature product offers a temporary trial. Foxit also provides a separate free simple signing tool, but Foxit explicitly states that signatures collected using that free tool are not legally binding or compliant with e-signing standards. Users who need Foxit’s full eSign workflow are directed toward the trial or a paid plan. Foxit free signing tool documentation, accessed September 3, 2026

That free utility should not be ranked as equivalent to an ongoing business e-signature platform.

Acrobat Pro

Adobe Acrobat Pro homepage screenshot captured September 3 2026
Adobe Acrobat homepage, captured September 3, 2026.

Adobe’s permanent free Acrobat account and the Acrobat Pro trial are also separate offers.

The free account’s recurring allowance is the two request transactions described earlier. Acrobat Pro provides a temporary trial of paid functionality. Do not transfer Pro features into the Free row simply because both products use the Acrobat name.

Match the free plan to your workflow

There is no useful single winner because the restrictions target different workflows.

If you want the largest conventional monthly allowance

Start by checking BoldSign, particularly if you register with a business email domain.

Its documented ceiling of 25 envelopes per month is strong for a mainstream hosted Free plan, but verify the allowance shown inside your own account because BoldSign documents lower limits for some personal-domain registrations.

Look closely at OpenSign and DocuSeal.

Their built-in email quotas make them look smaller if you compare only automated invitations. Their shared or manually distributed link workflows make the real free capacity more nuanced.

If several team members need access

PandaDoc stands out because its Free plan documents unlimited account seats.

The tradeoff is that its sending allowance is annual, recipients are capped at two per document, and the separate uploaded-document restriction deserves attention.

If one document needs many signers

Documenso is unusually clear about allowing up to 10 recipients on a Free document.

Other vendors support multiple recipients but frequently do not publish a Free-specific numeric cap.

If forms and signatures belong in the same workflow

Jotform Sign is the natural candidate.

Just remember that its 10 signed-document allowance and 100 form-submission allowance measure different activities.

If you already use a cloud productivity ecosystem

Box Sign and Zoho Sign are compelling primarily because signing sits beside tools you may already use.

Box provides five monthly signature requests and a real-time audit trail. Zoho provides five envelopes, one user, cloud-storage connectivity, and broad desktop/mobile app support.

If you only send a few agreements

SignWell, Dropbox Sign, Adobe Acrobat, Sign.com, Signaturely, and Xodo Sign can all cover low-volume workflows.

Your decision should come down to the counter that best matches what you actually send, not whether three sounds bigger than two. Dropbox’s request can bundle documents. Adobe uses a rolling 30-day transaction allowance. Xodo resets weekly.

For a broader comparison that includes paid tiers, higher-volume tools, advanced authentication, integrations, and business features, see BrandJet’s best document signing tools guide.

Restrictions that break an otherwise useful free plan

Free e-signature software often becomes inconvenient because of a secondary limit rather than the headline document quota.

Account domain: BoldSign may give a business-domain account 25 monthly requests while limiting a personal-domain account to five.

Different counters inside one account: Jotform’s form submissions and signed documents are separate quotas.

Annual plus monthly restrictions: PandaDoc advertises 60 sends per year while also documenting a five-uploaded-document monthly limit for its Free eSign workflow.

Templates: Box Sign, Zoho Sign, and Xodo Sign do not provide reusable templates on their current Free plans. SignWell provides one. BoldSign provides two. PandaDoc provides five.

Invitation emails: OpenSign and DocuSeal limit platform-sent invitations even when alternative signing-link workflows remain possible.

Branding versus watermarking: A vendor logo in an email or signing page is not necessarily a watermark stamped onto the final PDF. We only call something a PDF watermark when the vendor explicitly documents it or a completed document has been inspected.

Trial behavior: Zoho’s trial and Free plan are not interchangeable. The trial has different restrictions and watermark behavior.

Recent plan changes: Xodo changed its Free plan on September 2, 2026. A roundup can be only a few months old and still be wrong.

Our source verification and testing limits

Testing disclosure: This version of the article is based on source verification, not hands-on product testing.

For this update, we reviewed current official vendor pricing pages, support documentation, Free-plan guides, and product help pages on September 3, 2026. We prioritized first-party support documentation when a vendor’s marketing pages and older articles conflicted.

We did not claim to have created accounts, exhausted quotas, waited for resets, inspected every completed PDF, or tested mobile workflows when those actions had not actually been performed.

That means some fields in the table deliberately say not publicly specified. That is preferable to filling a gap with an assumption.

A future hands-on update should use the same neutral two-page dummy agreement for every product and record:

  1. the account’s Free-plan and usage screen before sending;
  2. a request to two external test recipients where allowed;
  3. the quota change after sending;
  4. whether a recipient must create an account;
  5. the completed PDF and any visible vendor branding;
  6. the completion certificate or audit record;
  7. sender and recipient mobile behavior;
  8. the screen displayed when the Free allowance is exhausted.

Monthly, annual, and weekly resets cannot honestly be described as “observed” unless an account is maintained across those periods. Until then, the renewal frequency should be labeled as verified from official documentation.

FAQ

What is the best free document signing tool?

There is no universal best option because free plans use incompatible quotas. BoldSign has one of the largest conventional monthly allowances for qualifying business-domain accounts. OpenSign can support more documents if you distribute signing links yourself. PandaDoc is notable for unlimited seats, while Documenso clearly supports up to 10 recipients per Free document.

Is DocuSign actually free?

DocuSign is free for receiving, signing, and returning documents through a free account. It also allows up to three outgoing signature requests or envelopes for collecting signatures. Those three outbound sends are a limited allowance, not a recurring three-per-month Free sender plan.

Which free e-signature tool lets you send the most documents?

It depends on what “send” means. BoldSign documents up to 25 envelopes per month for qualifying business-domain Free accounts. OpenSign says documents are unlimited but limits its own invitation emails to 15 per month, after which users can distribute signing links themselves. PandaDoc uses a 60-document annual allowance instead of a monthly one.

Which free e-signature tools require no credit card?

Current official documentation explicitly supports no-card Free signup or trial access for products including BoldSign, DocuSeal, PandaDoc, Documenso, SignWell, Adobe Acrobat, Sign.com, Signaturely, and DocuSign. Zoho says its 14-day trial requires no card and can transition to the permanent Free tier. Always recheck signup screens because onboarding policies can change.

Are free electronic signatures legally binding?

A $0 price does not make an electronic signature legally valid or invalid by itself. Enforceability depends on factors including jurisdiction, document type, consent, authentication, record retention, and evidence of the signing process. Audit trails and completion certificates can strengthen the evidence record, but they do not guarantee that every signed document is enforceable in every situation. See BrandJet’s guide to when electronic signatures are legally binding in the United States for the federal and state framework.

Foxit is an important exception to casual “free is fine” assumptions because Foxit explicitly says signatures collected through its separate free simple signing tool are not legally binding or compliant with e-signing standards.

Which free plans include an audit trail?

Official documentation confirms audit or signing-history capabilities for several Free options, including BoldSign, DocuSeal, Jotform Sign, Box Sign, Zoho Sign, SignWell, Dropbox Sign, Adobe Acrobat, and Documenso. PandaDoc documents a certificate of completion with signer and activity information, although its feature terminology should not be automatically equated with every paid audit-trail feature.

Which free e-signature plan supports the most users?

Among the plans reviewed here, PandaDoc is notable for documenting unlimited seats on its Free plan. BoldSign and SignWell each list one sender on Free, Zoho Sign lists one user, Box Individual is a single-user plan, and Xodo Sign currently lists one seat. Other vendors do not always publish a precise Free seat limit.

Do free e-signature plans add watermarks?

Not necessarily, and a watermark should not be confused with normal vendor branding.

Zoho states that its permanent Free-plan documents are not watermarked, while its temporary trial documents are. BoldSign states that signed documents do not carry a watermark. Several other vendors do not publish a clear Free-plan completed-PDF watermark policy, so those products need a real completed-document test before we make a categorical claim.

Is a free trial the same as free e-signature software?

No. A permanent Free sender plan continues to allow some signature requests without payment. A trial temporarily unlocks a paid tier and eventually ends. signNow’s seven-day trial is therefore different from a recurring plan such as SignWell’s three documents per month or Zoho Sign’s five envelopes per month.

Does free signing as a recipient count against a sender’s limit?

Usually the sender’s account bears the usage imit, not the recipient. Recipients commonly sign without paying, and many services do not require them to create an account. That free recipient experience should never be advertised as proof that the platform offers unlimited free sending.

Why do free e-signature limits change so often?

Free tiers are acquisition products as well as useful software plans, so vendors can change quotas, features, and onboarding rules independently of their paid products. Xodo Sign’s Free-plan revision on September 2, 2026 is a current example. That is why every quota in this guide carries a September 3, 2026 verification date instead of relying on an old roundup.

The safest approach is simple: choose the free plan that fits your workflow today, verify the allowance displayed inside your account before moving important documents into it, and treat any comparison that turns envelopes, emails, annual sends, and signature requests into one supposedly comparable number with caution.

More posts

Document Signing & PDF Tools

Best Document Signing Tools in 2026: Pricing, Limits, and Features Compared

Compare 9 document signing tools on 2026 pricing, free limits, envelope caps, integrations, APIs, compliance, and...

BrandJet Team Sep 3 1 min read
Document Signing & PDF Tools

Best Free PDF Editors Without Watermarks or Forced Sign-Up

Compare free PDF editors by real text editing, watermarks, forced accounts, OCR, privacy, and exact limits, with...

BrandJet Team Sep 3 1 min read
Document Signing & PDF Tools

Best PDF Editors in 2026: Free and Paid Options Compared

Compare the best PDF editors in 2026 for real text and image editing, OCR, scanned PDFs, redaction, forms, privacy,...

BrandJet Team Sep 3 1 min read